Caffe Rosso – Eat, Sip, Stay

Guess what I found?!

In the middle of Ramsay, bordering the Industrial core of Calgary there’s this oddly placed building with a gravel parking lot.  I can’t believe this has been here for over two years.  Maybe it’s because I have been gone living in Edmonton and Vancouver so long, but I had no idea this little gem was here!

I tried to do some research on the building because of its interesting surroundings.  It was apparently a development project by Torode… the same people that have brought you Hotel arts, Arriva, and more.

 

Ok, Back to coffee.  I have been here now a couple times and it’s great.  I even spotted the mayor over here once.  Upon talking to the barista/cook/manager?  I was told that they rotate a different bean/coffee roaster every couple months, which appeals to me because then you get the chance to explore a variety.  I’ve been told they used to use only Illy, but that’s not what they serve now. 

They offer a range of breakfast foods, homemade soups, loaves, and panini.  I was most surprised by the combi oven. *ka-ching* Makes me wonder what they make!  I think they use a synesso machine… the coffee is good, actually quite good.   They have been consistently tasty, I’ll have to go back for a refresher. 

Caffe Rosso is like a mesh between homey and urban.  They have cushy couches contrasting the red walls; but my fave brick wall adds a wicked feel, I like! When rushes hit, seems it can be pretty whirwind-ish.  The constant chatter and business is nice to read in or chat for a little while.  Weekends are pretty busy and the atmosphere really quite different.  Overall, good coffee!

Service: comes in rushes = when it’s crazy, make sure you pick up after yourself.

Likelihood to return: definitely

Food/Coffee: tbd. consistent.

Chillness: 4 chill chairs/ 5

Oh, and just in that same area they have public art too!  … something about Dennis Oppenheim’s ‘Device to Root out Evil’.  Sounds like this piece was too controversial for Stanford, too much of an eye-sore for Vancouver, and just perfect in its home in Calgary.  This is one cool place!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

