Pumpkin Spice cake

Earlier in the autumn, I was craving pumpkin pie and asked the local grocer if they carried pumpkin purée.  The clerk looked at me like I had ten eyes! Well, I guess I would have to search a bit harder to find this ‘speciality’ item. Instead, I bought a pumpkin … because how hard could it be to make pumpkin purée?

“Well, here’s how:”

Preheat the oven to 175ºC. Cut and deseed the pumpkin, toss with oil and place on a pan.  Bake until soft, then remove from the oven and srape the flesh off the skin.  Put in a pan and purée with a hand blender. Once finely mashed, pass through a sieve.

Voilà!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:6]

After all that, I topped the cake with chopped pecans and crystallised ginger. Dust it with cinnamon to finish.

-Goodluck!

Don’t forget to enter the Knorr Giveaway!! Just leave a comment or RT the tweet.

IMG_4968

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

